Hopefully your users will remember to check in their documents regularly, and particularly when they will be out of the office. What happens when this is not the case and someone else needs to work on them?
Enterprise PDM protects documents from update if they are checked out by another user. Here I’m logged in as Mary and would like to work on a document checked out by John. As you can see, I am unable to check out, check in, or undo checkout:
The admin user has special permissions that allow additional access to documents that are checked out by others. Here, logged in as admin, I see that I can undo checkout:
Or can I? Clicking the Undo Check Out button does nothing. Why not?
Notice the warning. You have to check the Undo Check Out box for the file(s) you want first, then click the Undo Check Out button. Note that this will throw away any changes that have been made since the last check-in. Once accepting the warnings, the file(s) will then revert to the last checked in version and will be available for users to check out.
Now Mary can check out the file and do her work: